Book Review: Dark Corners by A. M. Madden

Title:  Dark Corners

Author:  A M Madden

Series:  Real Heroes – Book 3

Release Date:  November 8, 2016

Genre: Contemporary Romance

four-stars

Goodreads Blurb   Amazon   B&N

►►► BLURB◄◄◄  Meet Private First Class David Cavello.
Love is war when shadows play games with the heart. In this thrilling romance from the USA Today bestselling author of Stone Walls and Glass Ceilings, a decorated veteran facing the darkest battlefield finds a guiding light to trust and tenderness.
David Cavello is no longer in uniform, but the memories of combat still haunt his every waking moment. Driven to protect and serve, he accepts an undercover job he has to keep hidden from everyone. But David’s mission goes against orders the second he makes contact with gorgeous and spirited Maygen Whitney. The intense attraction he feels for Maygen drives him crazy—almost as crazy as he feels about hiding information from her.
After growing up with an overprotective father, Maygen feels like she’s finally claiming her independence. Sure, she’s been lonely, but David seems to make all her dreams come deliciously true—until the sting of betrayal sends her world spiraling. Now Maygen’s caught in a tragic web of lies, leaving her more vulnerable than ever to an enemy hidden in the shadows. But when Maygen most needs a hero, David leaps into action—intent on doing whatever it takes to save the woman he loves.

►►► My Thoughts◄◄◄   Dark Corners is an emotional contemporary romance with a side of suspense added in for flavor.  The story is real and relatable.  It’s emotional and confusing just like real life.  I enjoy the broken hero who feels he doesn’t deserve love trope, so this book really worked for me.  There are dual conflicts that bring a bit of drama, mystery, and suspense to the novel.

I only had a couple minor critiques.  The story was a little bit redundant at times.  Also, the major conflict and resolution seemed a little too neat and convenient for me, but I let that slide.

Overall, this is a solid read.  It’s well written, has a great storyline, and the characters are well-developed.  Safety:  Violence, No cheating, No abuse between H/h.

I rate it:  4 Crazy Love Stars.  I’d recommend to readers who enjoy Romance, Suspense, and Military Romances.

I voluntarily reviewed an advanced copy via NetGalley.

For more information on this new release visit the  Author’s Blog.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s