Book Review: Moon Chosen by P. C. Cast

Title:  Moon Chosen

Author:  P. C. Cast

Series:  Tales of a New World – Book 1

Release Date:  October 18, 2016

Genre: YA Fantasy / Dystopian

Goodreads  Amazon  B&N

Earth Walkers, Skin Stealers, and Companions inhabit the post-apocalyptic earth created by P. C. Cast in Moon Chosen, Book 1 of the Tales of a New World Series.  The book follows the intersecting paths of the three clans.  The hero and heroine, Nik and Mari join forces to unite their different tribes and dispel incorrect assumptions about one another. 

Here’s what I liked most:  The cover design is beautiful and the premise is imaginative.  It’s like nothing I’ve read before.  The author describes the new world she’s created with incredible attention to detail.  It’s vivid and poignant.   I enjoyed the Moon-woman / Earth Mother concept.  P.C. Cast writes awesome Goddess worship and ritual scenes.  She really builds a magical “new world” for her readers to explore.  The detailed and vivid world building was both a blessing and a curse (more on that later).   

A lot of common YA tropes are used in this book.  It’s emotional and gripping.  On the flip-side it’s also at times violent and disturbing.  There’s a pretty good mix of fantasy, young adult, and light romance elements to entertain most readers.

Character development is a really strong point in this novel.  I have to admit; I didn’t like our heroine Mari early on.  She seemed very immature initially, but grows up a lot over the course of the novel.  Each of the main characters develop a lot during the events of the story. 

The companion relationship with their canines is a thing of beauty.  Essentially, each companion is chosen by a canine.  Once paired, they develop an unbreakable bond that allows them to communicate with one another.

Here’s what didn’t work for me:  This book is long.  Like over 600 pages long!  I completely understand the need to set the scene and acclimate the reader to an unfamiliar setting, but this was much longer than expected or necessary in my humble opinion.  I also had some minor issues with some of Mari’s dialogue.  It was a bit juvenile and choppy to me. 

With that said, this is still a great start to a new series.  It’s original and vivid. I absolutely loved the House of Night series and was over the top excited when I received this ARC.  I’m really looking forward to see what happens next.

I rate it:  4 Full Moon Stars

I’d recommend this book to readers who enjoy Dystopian, Young Adult and/or Fantasy reads.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Moon Chosen by P. C. Cast

  1. I loved the House of Night series and was super-excited to get access to this galley as well, but I couldn’t get through the first 20 pages. The dialogue was so basic, and I was struggling. Really bummed me out because I was SO excited to read it. Perhaps I just wasn’t in the right mood and I DNF’d it too quickly. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s